Spanish Passport

Freedom of movement within the EU with Spain Immigration?

Does Spanish Citizenship or Spain Residency allow me freedom of movement within the EU?

Obtaining Residency in Spain with Spain Residency allows a number of benefits which include Visa-Free travel to all 26 European Schengen countries including Germany, the Netherlands and France.

The Schengen zone is made up of 26 European countries who have agreed freedom of movement for EU residents without passport and immigration controls upon their common borders. This means that it functions as a single country for international travel purposes, with a common visa policy.

With a population of approximately 400 million people, the Schengen zone comprises and currently consists of Spain, France, Germany, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Czech Republic, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Slovakia, Sweden and Switzerland.

Permanent residency is obtained after 5 years of Spanish Residency through Self-Empoyed Residency or Non-Lucrative Residency or Residency through Investment. This followed by 5 years as a permanent resident and means you can then obtain Spanish Citizenship with a Spanish Passport.

Back to Residency Blog »

Scroll to Top