Countries Exempt from Spanish Visa Requirements


Are you considering a journey to the captivating Spanish territory and need to know the countries exempt from Spanish visa requirements?

Here, you shall discover the comprehensive guide of which nations that require a visa to enter Spain, along with those fortunate enough to be visa-free. Brace yourself for an additional step taking effect in 2021 that warrants attention.

Understanding the Schengen Area and Short-Stay Visas

Before listing the countries and nationalities necessitating a visa to legally enter Spain, comprehending the context assumes paramount importance. Applying for a visa entails acquiring the privilege of lawful entry and a 90-day stay in Spain. Whether for familial visitation, business events, or mere tourism, if your nationality mandates visa application, complying becomes pivotal to evade rejection at the entry border. Termed as the tourist visa or Schengen visa, it grants access to countries within the Schengen Area. While it comprises several of the same nations, it should not be confused with the European Union. Nevertheless, Spain belongs to both alliances.

Countries Exempt from Spanish Visa Requirements

Without further ado, behold the comprehensive inventory of nations whose citizens do not require a short-term visa to enter Spain:

  • Albania
  • Guatemala
  • South Korea
  • Andorra
  • Honduras
  • Solomon Islands
  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • Israel
  • Samoa
  • Argentina
  • Japan
  • Saint Christopher and Nevis
  • Australia
  • Kiribati
  • San Marino
  • Bahamas
  • Malaysia
  • Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Barbados
  • Marshall Islands
  • Saint Lucia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Mauritius
  • Holy See
  • Brazil
  • Mexico
  • Serbia
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Micronesia
  • Seychelles
  • Canada
  • Moldova
  • Singapore
  • Chile
  • Monaco
  • East Timor
  • Colombia
  • Montenegro
  • Tonga
  • Costa Rica
  • Nauru
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Dominica
  • Nicaragua
  • Tuvalu
  • El Salvador
  • New Zealand
  • Uruguay
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Palau
  • Vanuatu
  • United States
  • Panama
  • Venezuela
  • Georgia
  • Paraguay
  • Granada
  • Peru
  • RYM (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia)

A Word of Caution!
Citizens of these privileged nations can enter Spanish territory without consulate formalities or applying for a Schengen visa. However, they are obliged to meet certain requirements, such as furnishing proof of accommodation or a return flight. Details regarding visa-free entry prerequisites are available here.

Furthermore, any foreigner entering Spain without a visa must complete the ETIAS form online, which commenced in 2022.

Please see-here further information regarding residency on our video-blog

Do you need assistance with your Residency Application in Spain?

We are a Spanish Solicitor and assist our clients with all types of residency applications.

Permanent residency is obtained after 5 years of Spanish Residency through Self-Employed Residency, Digital-Nomad, Non-Lucrative Residency or Golden-Visa. This followed by 5 years as a permanent resident in Spain and means you can then obtain Spanish Citizenship with a Spanish Passport.

Back to Residency Blog »

Scroll to Top